ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

The Board of Education of Stanley-Boyd Area Schools District derives its legal status from the constitution of the State of Wisconsin and the statutes enacted by the General Legislature. The Board acts as an agent of the state in developing an educational program in accordance with the Constitution and laws of the State of Wisconsin.

The Stanley-Boyd Area School District is a unified school district operating under the provisions of Chapter 120, Sub Chapter III of the Wisconsin Statutes.

Seven members shall comprise the Board of Education with each member elected for a three year term, according to the following:

<u>Area One</u>, representing the townships of Edson, Thorp, Wilson, Worden and Butler, shall hold two seats. Base election years are 2000 and 2001.

<u>Area Two</u>, representing the townships of Colburn, Delmar and Taft, shall hold two seats. Base election years are 2001 and 2002.

Area Three, representing the Village of Boyd, shall hold one seat. Base election year is 2002.

<u>Area Four</u>, representing the City of Stanley, shall hold two seats. Base election years are 2000 and 2002.

All elections shall be conducted according to State Statutes.

The regular meeting for the reorganization of the Board shall be held in accordance with S.120.43(1) and called to order by the past Secretary of the Board. The board shall elect a president, vice president, clerk, treasurer, representative to CESA and a secretary, who need not be a member of the board. Offices shall be held for a term of one year.

Approved: 07-26-2010 Revised: